NEW VIDEO: The EASIEST Way to Stop Gaming

Is programming a Visual Novel a "safe" hobby?

LostSoul

Hi!

I'm trying to quit games so I can have more time to do other activities. The problem is that one of the activities is to develop Visual Novels. I'm learning how to draw and also writing the story. I am a software developer so coding will not be a problem. My question is: Is Visual Novel development a harmful hobby for me to take? I'm not asking about game development in general, but Visual Novel in specific, since I know that developing a MMO would not be a good thing for me to do. I think visual novels are not really games. They are interactive books. There is minimal level of gameplay and very little interactivity. They are like interactive Graphic Novels. I recently "played" "Mhakna Gramura and Fairy Bell". The "game" had not a single dialog option. It was a simple story moving forward without interaction. And it was enjoyable. But I didn't feel like I was playing. I felt like I was reading.

In my Visual Novel I would make it have two or three paths for the reader to follow.  But they would not result in defeating, simply would be a ending. The reader could reread the Visual novel, to get other endings. They could go back to the decision points directly to get the other options so they would see other endings, without the need of start the Visual Novel from the beginning.

In the more advanced Visual Novels that I have in mind I would put a battle system like Chrono Trigger, but without the possibility of girding or finding better equipment. They battles would be fixed, with predetermined level and special moves for each character. And in this case of course of course it would be a game.

I plan to release them for Android/IPhone and Steam.

Am I a traitor to the cause? Can I proceed?

Thanks!

3 hours ago, LostSoul said:

I plan to release them for Android/IPhone and Steam.

Am I a traitor to the cause? Can I proceed?