NEW VIDEO: The EASIEST Way to Stop Gaming

The New hope - quitting binge-viewing

Timelocker

Hello,

My name is Lucas and I've been addicted to watching gameplays on twitch and youtube for about 2 years. Previously it was not so bad, I've spend maybe 2 hours a day. But lately I've been spending like whole weekends (when there are no lectures) and evenings after my work. I'm studying also at weekends, and I've found out, that the projects, that we've to do are pretty simple so I procrastinated them, and did well, so it did strenghten my addiction.

I'm hoping to make a lot of progress in learning piano and electronics design. I've also plans for getting better at Linux and Python. For social life - previously I did play some board games with my friends, let me know, if it is a good habit.

Lately I've found, that this addiction is called binge-viewing (like watching whole seasons on netflix, that I've also done). Let me knew, if sb was also making his way through this.

Wish me luck 🙂

Lucas

Edited by Timelocker
  • Like 3

Hi Lucas! Welcome to the forum! 

I used to (still do from time to time) watch group gameplays from people I find funny, and perhaps I watch them at inconvenient times. I used to play my games alone so there is this kind of, you know, feeling of belonging by proxy, getting the inside jokes, finding out about their personalities, etc. Ironically I've found some classmates IRL who played or sometimes still play the same games I did and we get along great, but I've decided (and they've followed) to settle with sharing memes and agree on how hard we would fail the year if we got to play again (?)