NEW VIDEO: I Quit MMOs and THIS Happened

So... i joined... finally.

TheJan

Hello,

i am Jan and i have just joined after being "clean" for 17 days now. The reason why i did not join at first was because i had a lot of skepticism joining a forum again (and some anxiety). I have been in many forums (of games and otherwise) in the past and - in my "peak time" - it got a little out of hand. Which was in the end the reason i quit facebook, and have cut down on the forums; have WhatsApp though to keep in touch with my friends.

I wanted to write a wall of text here, but i guess a lot of that is better kept for the journal. Long story short, i have been playing around 15 years and for the last 10 years i have been playing approx. 6h/day (it varied of course, 4-12 h/day). The last time i tried to "wean off" games i tried to only install "low-risk games" like adventures. I moved from adventures to single-player-rpgs in like 4 days. Then another 4 days to city-building games/finance games. And after 2 weeks i was again at 6+ hours/day. Today i have been counting how much money i spent on games altogether - Pretty crazy if you sum it up and then average it out per month.

So, it didn't work. I realized - after like 6 more weeks - that i probably cannot control my gaming AT ALL. And this is why i am here and why i have committed to AT LEAST the 90 day detox - i printed out the ebook and i must say, it has been very helpful in getting me on track. This has been the longest time without games for the last 10+ years. I feel anxious, but i also feel a lot more "free" now - i mean i feel like i have more control over my life now. I hope you get what i mean.

I have made quite a few of changes already to fill the time (it doesn't help that i am waiting for social insurances to get me into rehabilitation stuff at time being, so i have LOTS of free time).

So, hello!

Edited by TheJan