NEW VIDEO: I Quit MMOs and THIS Happened

New here!

Hello all!

I'm 28 years old and World of Warcraft and League of Legends have been my biggest problem games.

I've been going through PTSD recovery this year along with being newly diagnosed with ADHD as an adult. I almost dropped out of my final year of uni this year because of these issues alongside my gaming addiction. Luckily my uni have extended all of my work with no penalty by 1 year to give me another chance so I really want to make the most of it. 

I have quit WoW and LoL. I cancelled my sub. It was one of the most difficult things I've ever done, similar to quitting smoking for me as I was often playing WoW competitively for 40 hours minimum but sometimes that number would creep up to almost 100 hours. I was an officer and heal lead for my team and have been asked to stay on as an officer to help out on Discord even though I'm no longer playing. 

Staying part of this community, I know in myself, is making it 10x more difficult for me. Every time I see them struggling, down a player, people not parsing well, healers not being coordinated etc. It makes me desperately want to go back and help them. I like feeling needed by them and it feels so upsetting not being able to help them. But I don't know how to step away from them ;_; I'm working on it though, I'm hoping the more I'm quiet and distant the easier it will become to eventually remove myself altogether. 

I'm trying to fill my time now with other activities (Tabletop, knitting, walking, gym, reading). But my goal in life is to be a Game Artist and it's what I'm studying at uni. So I really should be sculpting every day, but I'm finding it hard to return to that with it being a computer based activity and all the temptations that come with being on the PC.