NEW VIDEO: The EASIEST Way to Stop Gaming

Leaving a Mark

Gentleman Rat

Hello everyone,

I'm new here, and for the first time in my life, after more than a decade of pouring pointless hours into hype and money pits, I've come to the conclusion that I need help.

I'm an Army infantry veteran, usually a goofball, but most pridefully, an author.

When I was active duty a few years ago, my wife left me, took the kids, robbed my finances, and crippled my social status.

In fact, when I held my newborn when she was two-weeks-old, it would be the last time I would hold her until she had already turned three-YEARS old.

During this time, when I was dealing with 110 hours a week at work, and being emotionally abused by my now ex-wife, it felt like the only control I could gain was when I was playing video games.

It started with GTA, then every COD, then that led to Battlefield games, followed by other shooter games, then others, and further still down the hole.

In the last year, I've stuck to pretty much the same few games, spending hundreds of hours on each, trying to gain all the achievements, and challenges they presented each day.

At last, I found the freedom to leave the military, excusing myself from my duties with my end time of service and came home to fight a custody battle so bloody, strangers tried to start street fights with me while I was out getting coffee or groceries.

Moving to a new town, and after three long years of court, I was finally given sole custody of my older little girls, as well as at this point met my now fiancee and my new stepdaughter.

Now that I've moved to a new town, and surrounded myself with people who love me back, I face an issue that grew from the year my ex-wife left me: video games.