NEW VIDEO: The EASIEST Way to Stop Gaming

Committing to stop gaming

Tux

Hi, I just subscribed a few hours ago.

I'm not really new to StopGaming and Game Quitters, as I tried to quit in the past. However, until now, I always came back to video-games.

My first try, I had several relapses, because I didn't say no when someone invited me to play a game. As a student of computer science, video-games are really common among my peers. Then at some point in the summer, something in me "clicked", and I binged for a week on a game. Then after that I was more or less avoiding them, and at some point I went back to them, only to stop again. And once again, I started playing only to see myself waste a complete week-end being mentally stuck on a game. This is when I realized I need to do this and commit to it. I'm currently at two months of no gaming, and I believe I've understood what mistakes I was making

I didn't commit to this process completely. It's an addiction, and it take a lot of focus to deal with the problems associated with it. It will takes some time, but I need to sustain the effort. Another reason is that I kept in my mind the possibility of coming back to games. Maybe, when I old, I could play again. Maybe when I reach some goal in life. I've decided that I'm going to stop playing video-games forever. This mean that there is no turning back, no reason to get interested in them, and that I need to focus on my real life.

I did not expect this to make me emotional since I had tried in the past, but just telling myself that it's over forever makes me want to cry. I never had this reaction before. I'd say it means I'm walking in the right direction. As if now, I'm quitting for real. No moderation, only real life. It sound a bit weird though since I'm basically going to be a programmer in my life, but it's far more real than games. The benefits are much, much bigger.

I need to participate here, get involved. Hopefully, this time I will finish this.