Looking for a coach? Apply here to work with Cam 1 on 1.

I just destroyed all the video games in my house!

12 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi there,

I've been gaming for 28 years ever since I was 6 years old. I've taken brief breaks in the past, but I got addicted to ESO and I actually lost control. I realized that in the past year I've put over 1,000 hours into gaming. I live in a remote arctic location where winter lasts for 9 months. I have lived in this part of the world for almost 10 years after growing up in the deep south. I started doing EMS a year ago with the local fire department and have encountered some things that have been incredibly difficult to process. I have 5 children and am in the process of adopting another child from our community. I have a full life with lots of support and motivation, but I've been making excuses. I went into a survival mode recently and starting playing games anytime I could for hours at a time. It's been affecting my eating, sleeping, thoughts, relationships, and I have gotten severely dysfunctional. I don't know if the addiction with gaming has caused depression or if it is really just a manifestation of my discouragement. Gaming has been one element among other things, but it has become addictive for me in an unhealthy way. There are things that I can't or won't say in a public introduction. The other night I got into an argument with my wife. Later, after everyone was asleep, I destroyed ALL the video games in my home. My wife and children are supportive and it has been several days now, but I think this forum is a group that I need to help me not relapse. I have lots of responsibility and some people look up to me for spiritual help. I'm not just detoxing. I want a life without gaming and I want to help others with some of the wise words I've hear from Cam so far. Thanks so much.

Sincerely,

28_yrs_of_gaming

9 people like this

Posted