NEW VIDEO: The EASIEST Way to Stop Gaming

What Will You Learn From Ed's Journal?

Ed

This journal has 2 main purposes

1. I'm still learning (you never stop).  But I have learnt a few things that hopefully will help you.

2. This is the selfish reason.  To have a place to keep myself accountable.

This thread probably won't be updated daily, but I plan to put something in here at least once a week.

What Did I Work On Today?

There's one thing you need to be working on everyday.  Regardless of how old you are.

Fitness.

I have to admit I'm out of shape at the moment.  I've been slacking off lately.  There's more flab around my belly than I'd like.

After reading Kyle's Thousand Mile thread I decided I'd go for a mile run.

I haven't gone for a run for a while.  I used to have to run 2.4km (1.5mi) in under 11 minutes.  It used to be part of my job, I'll talk about that another time.

Running is enjoyable but I tend to avoid it these days.  Not the best exercise for your knees.

I got a respectable time:

Run_time.thumb.png.9bf8eaa88bb86103b4ec9

While that might seem like a good time to you, it's slow compared to the speed I used to run.

Maintaining your fitness standards is much easier than improving them.

I'm not upset about it, just acknowledging I can do better when I'm fit.  And notice that I'm not comparing my speeds to anyone else.

Competition has it's place and it can be a great motivator to get you fitter.  As long as you're comparing yourself to someone roughly the same level.

If you're at the stage you can only do a slow walk that's fine too.  That's doing way better than sitting on the couch watching reality TV.

On the way back from my run I stopped off at the bar.  No, not the one that sells beer, but the ones you can do chin-ups.... Or pull-ups......  I'm really not sure what they're officially called.  Anyway, I jumped and grabbed the bar.  Pulled myself up 5 times.  I want to get it to 10 in a row before the end of January.