NEW VIDEO: The EASIEST Way to Stop Gaming

I am a compulsive liar. Seeking help/book on how I can stop being a liar.

SundayMiharu

This problem of mine, I want to be more truthful, be a honest person. But oftentimes, I just returned to the old ways when I am in uncomfortable situation. 

So, I am a compulsive liar, and my trigger seem to be uncomfortable situation, or wanting to frame myself in better light. I want to stop this habit of mine. But so far, I haven't found any way to do it. 

Also, I do lie to myself. Procrastinating is also a problem, since it has been a habit for me to estimate the time needed to completion and saying it's alright, when it's really not.

So, this is so wrong to me. Considering that I am a statistician, this can have so many ripple, which would endanger not only myself, but those around me. Fortunately, I don't have a job yet. 

Anyone can recommend me book/video/any other media that deals with this?

P.S.: I'm not american. Psychiatrist is outside my capability to pay. So, I'm trying to deal with this myself.

• 1 month later...

Hi!

Got similiar problem as you, without knowing you, or your history. I am going to suggest a book to you, you resonate exactly with who I am, our history's and or personality's may be different. But the symptoms are similiar, first thing to do is accept that the road to becoming honest again, won't be easy and there is no easy way.

If you are however, ready to start changing. Read Models by Mark Manson, I went to page 80 so far, and I have struggled with the amount of truth this guy is dropping, his book about getting woman, but in fact his book is much bigger then that, it's about being who you are, and learning to find friends who like you, for you. learning to say no to people and drawing boundaries. To sum it up in a word or two, to be vulnerable, not as a weakness but as a strength.