Read: A Guide to Quit Gaming for One Year

Dylan Tazzioli

RUNNERS: How do I train my legs properly?

I started running about 2 weeks ago and would like to know how to train my legs properly. When I run for about 1 mile my feet and legs start to get sore just in general and I'm not really sure if I should do some additional training on top of running, if it is the shoes etc.

What can I do to train better for my runs so my feet and legs get sore? Thanks in advance for the input - I really appreciate it

Hey Dylan,

When I started running I didn't really see any progress over long periods of time either. That changed when I started training for parkour, because it turned out that running and jumping aren't so different after all. So I encourage you to check out some bodyweight-exercises like burpees, jumping rope, quadrapedal movement (one of the best exercises ever - strengthens legs, core and arms at the same time - so you won't have the problem of training unbalanced), and squats.

Also making sure to incorporate some dynamic stretching before running helps prevent extreme soreness or even pain.

Last but not least, make sure you run properly - if you run with "traditional" runningshoes for example you have to run in a different way than if you run barefoot (or with minimalism shoes). --> research on google for more information.

I don't believe that your shoes are responsible, but if you believe that you really have bad shoes, if you have access to a treadmill, try one day to run with shoes and on the next day without shoes and check if it gets better without shoes :/

• Like 1

Hi Dylan,

I've done 7 marathons since my detox so I have learned a few things along the way - the biggest thing I have learned so far is that there is a lot of crap online! A lot of it is tailored towards elite runners though, which are those people who run all day every day and win the prize money at races.